ADRK Rottweiler-Zwinger

"Vom Nürnberger Land"

Home > Information about "Rottweilers"                                                   deutsch english

Informationen about the dog race "Rottweiler"

Origin of the Rottweiler

Dogs of this race were frequent in the area of the former Reichsstadt Rottweil located in southern germany in the middle ages and were therefore called Rottweiler. Rottweil had been a centre of cattle marketing. It had been the job of the Rottweiler dogs to protect cattle and sheep against robbery and beasts of prey when the cattle was brought to the Breisgau, Elsass and Neckar valley. For this task the dogs had to be both powerful, enduring and calm and smart - Characteristics the Rottweilers still have today.

Description

Male Rottweiler reach up to 68 cm height with a weight of up to 50 kg, females are up to 63 cm high. Although the Rottweiler is a comparatively heavy and compact dog he is very powerful, agile and has endurance. The skin of the Rottweiler has short black hairs and shows red-brown signs at the cheek, mouth, eye-brows, below the tail, on the breast and at the feet which are called "Brand". Because of their character Rottweilers can be Protection dogs as well as family dogs.

Character

The Rottweiler is a self-conscious dog with extraordinary power. Rottweiler therefore serve as tracker dogs or protections dogs for the police. Also for families a Rottweiler can be a true companion if he is raised well. The crucial point for a positive character of the Rottweiler ist a consequent , loving and occupying education of the dog.

ADRK Rottweiler-Zwinger

"Vom Nürnberger Land"

Startseite > Informationen über die Hunderasse "Rottweiler"                     deutsch english

Informationen über die Hunderasse "Rottweiler"

Herkunft der Rottweiler

Hunde dieser Rasse waren im Mittelalter am häufigsten im Gebiet der damalige Reichsstadt Rottweil verbreitet und erhielten folgerichtig den Namen Rottweiler. Rottweil war ein Viehhandels-Zentrum. Die Aufgabe der Rottweiler war es Rinder und Schafe beim Viehtrieb in das umliegende Breisgau, das Elsass und das Neckartal vor Räubern und Wölfen zu schützen. Dafür benötigte man kräftige, ausdauernde, ruhige und kluge Hunde - alles Wesenszüge, die den Rottweiler auch heute noch auszeichnen.

Beschreibung

Männliche Rottweiler erreichen bis 68 cm Widerristhöhe bei einem Gewicht bis 50 kg, Weibchen erreichen etwa 63 cm. Obwohl der Rottweiler ein eher schwerer und stämmiger Hund ist besitzt er große Kraft, Wendigkeit und Ausdauer. Das Fell der Rottweiler ist kurz und schwarz und zeigt an den Backen, am Maul, an den Augenbrauen, unter der Schwanzwurzel sowie auf der Brust und an den Beinen klar abgegrenzte rotbraune Abzeichen, den sogenannten Brand. Aufgrund seiner Rasseeigenschaften eignet er sich sowohl als Schutzhund als auch als Familienhund.

Wesen

Dem Rottweiler ist ein selbstsicherer, wesensfester Hund mit einer herausragende Leistungsfähigkeit. Rottweiler sind daher u. a. im Polizeidienst als Such-, Fährten- und Schutzhund erprobt. Auch als Familienhund ist der Rottweiler bei fachgerechter Aufzucht ein verlässlicher und treuer Freund. Ausschlaggebend für die positive Entwicklung seiner Wesensmerkmale ist die konsequente , liebevolle und auslastende Erziehung des Hundes.